Hostile Entertainment

Great Live Music

The Black Sorrows

Posted by on Jun 12, 2015

Following on from the success of their album of originals Certified Blue last year, The Black Sorrows will release simultaneously, two limited edition 12” vinyl LPs titled Endless Sleep (Chapter 46) and Endless Sleep (Chapter 47). The discs are a tribute to the likes of Lou Reed, JJ Cale, John Coltrane, Captain Beefheart, Hank Williams, Skip James and more.

“I tip my hat to the spirit of these artists who have inspired me and give the songs another opportunity to be heard…I’m a disciple and it’s a bit of soul food.” Joe Camilleri

A few tracks were recorded at the same time as Certified Blue for “entertainment value”. As the original artists /songwriters are deceased, Endless Sleep, a track on the album by fifties rockabilly artist Jody Reynolds, seemed the perfect title. Special guests include Vika Bull singing Big MayBelle’s 1958 song That’s a Pretty Good Love, a standout track on Chapter 46.

In support of the release in Europe, the band will embark on a 20 date tour of the UK and Scandinavia in August including 6 performances at Edinburgh Fringe Festival.

In 2014 Joe Camilleri celebrated 50 years in the music business. The release of the highly successful album Certified Blue added to the 50th anniversary by giving him his first mainstream chart appearance in almost a decade. Album number 45 for Camilleri and number 17 for The Black Sorrows, Certified Blue peaked at No. 2 in the ARIA Jazz and Blues Chart and finished at No. 5 for the year after 40 weeks. In The Australian Blues and Roots Chart, the album peaked at No. 1: quite an achievement for an independent release.

Endless Sleep is another superb production by Joe Camilleri and The Sorrows keyboard player, John McAll. Every intimate nuance has been beautifully captured on this vinyl only release.

The Black Sorrows are:-
Joe Camilleri – vocals, guitar, sax, harp John McAll – keyboards, vocals Claude Carranza – guitar, vocals Mark Gray – bass, vocals
Angus Burchall – drums

Endless Sleep is released on Friday 17th April, 2015